top of page

Happy Independence Day!

Today marks the first time that I have ever missed the Fourth of July celebrations with my friends and family. While I'm not too heartbroken, I have found that some of my coworkers are curious about the US holiday. Many imagine Americans going crazy and getting plastered amidst a slew of firework displays, but that's not what my memories of the holiday are. (Of course, I'm sure that this scene is common among Americans.) Anyway, I have done my best to describe some of my memories of the holiday, as well as what many of the traditions that we have.

This morning, I spent my time in with Brick City as an invigilator. I had one model fall over, causing me to panic and call for reinforcements. Luckily, it was easy to stand back up and didn't fall to pieces. Perhaps it was thanks to the dreary day outdoors, but the children seemed to be rowdier than usual. I had to deal with boys running around the exhibit while their parents sat quietly. Needless to say, I found some moments to be quite difficult to keep my composure.

This afternoon, I am back in the search room, working on finishing up some of the necessary paperwork and materials for this internship. Tomorrow, I have a meeting with Jane to discuss what I have done here in New Lanark, as well as throughout Scotland. It's hard to believe that I only have one day at New Lanark left. I'm not sure that I'm ready to make the long journey home and leave this place. I miss my friends and family dearly, but this place has really grown on me.

New Lanark has truly been a wonderful place to work and live in. Scotland is as beautiful as I had imagined, if not more so. The people are kind and welcoming, even if you obviously have an American accent. I have met so many wonderful people during my time here and I hate the thought that this might be the last time that I ever see them again. With that said, though, I am so grateful that I had the chance to get to know some of New Lanark's finest employees. Tomorrow night, I will have to say goodbye to a number of people that have helped to make this experience memorable and I don't think that I'm ready. Tonight, I have to finish up packing and that I am definitely not ready for.

This internship has caused me to feel more confident in myself and has given me the opportunity to expand my knowledge through a completely immersive experience. I hope to help other students become interested in this opportunity so that more individuals can explore the world. This internship has been the icing on the cake for my undergraduate work. Without the help of so many people, this would not have been possible and I am eternally grateful for the efforts of so many!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page