top of page

The Falls of Clyde

After a long day at work, I decided to finally make the trek around on the nature preserve here in New Lanark. What I didn't expect, though, was that I would end up halfway around only to discover that I would need to retrace my steps in order to get home. Either way, I got to see some pretty spectacular views of the falls, as well as snap some incredible shots along the way. Even though it had recently rained, the pathway was pretty dry and the cool air was refreshing as I hiked up and down the hills.

Having started my journey in the evening, I did not have enough time to make it all the way around the trail, but I also knew that backtracking would add significant time to the journey. Hopefully, I will return one day and have my fiance with me to walk all the way around the nature preserve. (It also didn't help that alot of the trail was along steep cliffs and I didn't feel comfortable being so close to the edge.)

The falls, though, were absolutely breathtaking and they reminded me of just how powerful water can be. Since the mills in New Lanark were built here for the primarily purpose of using the water power from the river, it is easy to see David Dale's inspiration. Even though the falling water is relaxing and soothing, it is also a reminder that water can be extremely dangerous. Many points along the river are fast moving and marked with warning signs, which only makes one a bit more nervous.

New Lanark, though, is a very peaceful place to be. With the river running along the base of New Lanark and the buildings standing as a reminder of the sites 200 plus years of history, this place truly puts one's mind at ease. Of course, there are always ways to improve a site, but this place has come so far in such a short period of time that it's truly inspiring. I can't wait to visit here again and see what changes have been made, as well as what has continued to stay the same.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page